Industrial Development Bank.—The Bank, a subsidiary of the Bank of Canada, was incorporated in 1944 to provide loans to industrial enterprises where financing is not available through recognized lending organizations. (See footnote, p. 98.)

National Battlefields Commission.—This Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1908 to preserve the historic battlefields at Quebec City. The Commission is composed of nine members, seven being appointed by the Federal Government and one each by the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec. The Commission is supported by an annual statutory grant from the Federal Government and is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources.

National Film Board.—The National Film Board was established in 1939 and the National Film Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 185), provides for a Board of Governors of nine members —a Government Film Commissioner, appointed by the Governor in Council, who is Chairman of the Board, three members from the public service of Canada and five members from outside the public service. The Board reports to Parliament through a designated Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration). The Board is responsible for advising the Governor in Council on film activities and is authorized to produce and distribute films in the national interest and, in particular, films "designed to interpret Canada to Canadians and to other nations".

National Gallery.—The National Gallery was founded in 1880. By Act of Parliament in 1913 and re-enacted in 1951, it was placed under the management of a Board of Trustees appointed by the Governor General in Council, and is responsible to Parliament through a Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration).

The first charge of the National Gallery is the development and care of the national art collections. Other important services are the arrangement of loans and exhibitions from abroad and from its own holdings for showing in Canada and abroad, the promotion of good industrial design, and general extension work consisting of the distribution of reproductions for educational purposes, lectures, educational tours, publications, school broadcasts and art films.

National Harbours Board.—The Board was established by Act of Parliament in 1936. It is responsible for the administration of port facilities at the harbours of Halifax, Saint John, Chicoutimi, Quebec, Three Rivers, Montreal, Vancouver and Churchill. The Board is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

National Research Council.—In 1917, the Research Council Act was passed and in 1928, laboratories for scientific research were established at Ottawa. The National Research Council now has divisions of pure and applied chemistry, building research, mechanical engineering, radio and electrical engineering, physics, applied biology and medical research. Regional laboratories have been established at Saskatoon, Sask., and Halifax, N.S.

Patentable processes and improvements developed by the Council are made available under licence to industry through a Crown company, Canadian Patents and Development Limited (see p. 102), and any profits from the licensing arrangements are used for further research and development.

The Minister of Trade and Commerce, as Chairman of the Privy Council Committee on Scientific and Industrial Research, is responsible to Parliament for the National Research Council.

Northern Transportation Company Limited.—This Company was incorporated in 1947 under the title of Northern Transportation Company (1947) Limited, the name being changed in 1952. Previously a company chartered under an Alberta Statute, it has been a wholly owned subsidiary of Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited since that Crown company was established, and carries out the business of a common carrier in the Mackenzie River watershed. The Company is responsible to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research.

Northwest Territories Power Commission.—The Commission was established by Act of Parliament in 1948 to bring electric power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be provided on a self-sustaining basis. The Act was amended in 1950 to give authority to the Commission to provide similar services in the Yukon Territory. The Commission is composed of a Chairman and two members appointed by the Governor in Council; it operates hydro-electric plants on the Snare River in the Northwest Territories and on the Mayo River in Yukon Territory and a diesel electric plant at Fort Smith, N.W.T. The Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources reports to Parliament for the Commission.

Park Steamship Company Limited.—After World War II, this Company acted as an agent for Crown Assets Disposal Corporation in the sale and delivery to purchasers of Government war-built ships. This work is completed but the Company remains available